Biosymposium 2013: Biodiversity Resilience

Biodiversity Resilience: 2nd and 3rd October

The annual Biodiversity Institute Symposium for 2013 tackled the subject of Biodiversity Resilience. Factors leading to the loss of resilience in social-ecological systems are the focus of many excellent on-going research programmes and symposia. However, this two-day symposium aims to highlight the other side of the resilience research agenda – namely factors that promote and lead to resilience of biodiversity. The symposium will showcase ongoing research that examines the biotic and abiotic processes and mechanisms responsible for biodiversity resilience (ranging from genomics to landscape-scale), through to policies and management that ensure resilience of biodiversity now and in the future. Invited speakers will be addressing the following topics and questions:

How do we create resilient arctic ecosystems?
How does genomic biodiversity contribute to ecological resilience?
What is the role of biodiversity in ecosystem function and resilience?
Resilience in oceans
Policy trade-offs for biodiversity resilience
Long term studies as bellwethers of biodiversity resilience
Factors influencing the resilience of populations and ecosystems to perturbation – theory and empirical evidence
Landscape resilience and biodiversity in arid environments
Governing for resilience


Tim Benton (UK Champion for Global Food Security, University of Leeds)
Niels Blaum (University of Potsdam)
Christian Brochmann  (University of Oslo)
Rachel Cavanagh (British Antarctic Survey, Cambridge)
Lydia Cole (University of Oxford)
Marina C. Côrtes (Universidade Estadual Paulista, Rio Claro, São Paulo, Brazil)
Joseph Craine (Kansas State University)
Neil Davies (UC Berkeley)
John Dearing (University of Southampton)
Andy Dougill (University of Leeds)
Ehsan Dulloo (Bioversity International, Rome)
Jon Ekstrom (The Biodiversity Consultancy)
Dawn Field (NERC Centre for Ecology & Hydrology)
Jean-Michel Gaillard (UCB Lyon)
Ruth Gates (University of Hawaii)
Thomas Hale (University of Oxford)
Sue Hartley (University of York)
Andy Hector (University of Zurich/University of Oxford)
Bob Holt (University of Florida)

Steve Jennings (Oxfam)
Tim Lenton (University of Exeter)
Robert May (University of Oxford)
Angus Middleton (European Associations for Hunting & Conservation)
Sue Moore (NOAA/Fisheries Office of Science & Technology, Seattle)
Shahid Naeem (Columbia University)
Philipp Neubauer (Dragonfly Science, Wellington, New Zealand)
Johan Olofsson (Umeå University)
Eric Post (Penn State University)
Jennifer Rowntree (University of Manchester)
Ben Sheldon (University of Oxford)
Isabel Smallegange (University of Oxford)
Graham Stone (Institute of Evolutionary Biology, Edinburgh)

Thomas Thornton (University of Oxford)
Joe Tobias (University of Oxford)
Klement Tockner (Leibniz Institute for Freshwater Ecology)
Samuel Turvey (ZSL Institute of Zoology, London)
Guy Woodward (Imperial College London)